Mama Never Took Me to Yellowstone

Mama never took me to Yellowstone
Papa never drove us to Rushmore
Nobody showed me the Redwood Forest
Guess I gotta get there on my own

I was listening to a bunch of John Prine before this came out of me during February Album Writing Month. It’s kind of an Alaska girl anthem. If the audio player above doesn’t show up or work, here is a link to Mama Never Took Me to Yellowstone. Read on to see the video and rest of the lyrics.

Mama Never Took Me to Yellowstone, but in 2010 I took my son Canyon there!

MAMA NEVER TOOK ME TO YELLOWSTONE
by Britt K. Arnesen

Mama never took me to Yellowstone
Papa never drove us to Rushmore
Nobody showed me the Redwood Forest
Guess I gotta get there on my own
Guess I gotta get there on my own

I never went to the high school prom
Traded off my date for a fishing rod
I said hey honey wanna come along?
You’re coming or I’m going on my own
You’re coming or I’m going on my own

Said I’m gonna search this whole world over
Some day gonna find that four leaf clover
Can’t figure out why you don’t come over
And why I’m always fishing on my own
Why am I always fishing on my own?

Never met my love at the Eiffel Tower
I didn’t get invited to the baby shower
Seems like no one ever gets me flowers
Go and buy my own
Gonna grow my own

I’ve been searching this whole world over
Some day gonna find that four leaf clover
Hiking down a trail with my dog named Rover
You’re coming or I’m going on my own
You’re coming or I’m going on my own

I want to go to the Capitol
I wanna march on the Washington Mall
Soldier’s names from Vietnam
I wanna read them all
Yeah, I’m gonna read them all

I’m still searching this whole world over
Some day gonna find that four leaf clover
Don’t mind the waiting but we’re getting older
You’re coming or I’m going on my own
You’re coming or I’m going on my own

Mama never took me to Yellowstone
Papa never drove us to Rushmore
Nobody showed me the Redwood Forest
Guess I gotta get there on my own
You’re coming or I’m going on my own

About 907Britt

"907Britt is pure folk." -SunStar "...finely crafted lyrics." -Americana Music Times "...a new light on the folk scene." -Lively Times "Arnesen effortlessly mixes elements of folk, country and bluegrass..." -Fairbanks Daily News-Miner
This entry was posted in Featured and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

