Still Hurts

In advance of my first Montana tour, I registered on MontanaMusicians.com. Richie Reinholdt of Missoula was the first to “friend” me and I am so thankful. When I posted a rough draft of this waltz in late spring 2010, Richie offered to play mandolin on it. He did a beautiful job, and so did Cecil DeMeerleer, whose upright bass I recorded in Friday Harbor, Washington. On December 3, 2010, I re-sang the lead vocals and re-mixed the bass, mandolin, and guitar.

If you live nearby, please don’t miss the shows I am playing with Richie January 9,  2010 at Symes Hot Springs and 11th at The Murray in Livingston with Britt Smith.

The whole song was written and recorded by our long-distance folk trio over a four day period in May 2010. I mixed it myself and added a few backing vocals and a triangle, but kept it simple. I re-sang and re-mixed it on December 3, 2010. An honest and humble apology.

STILL HURTS
Words and music by Britt K. Arnesen

The last thing I ever wanted to do
Was to hurt you
It’s the last thing I ever wanted to do
And it hurt me too
It still hurts me too

I made a mistake
I cannot repay the true cost
It can’t be repaired
I cannot replace what you’ve lost

And the only thing that I can think of to do
Is to sing you sincerely this sweet little tune
It’s the only thing that I know how to do
Even though it’s no use
Can’t write a sweet enough song to make it up to you

I made a mistake
I cannot repay the true cost
It can’t be repaired
And no song can replace what you’ve lost

And the last thing I wanted to do
Was to hurt you
It’s the last thing I ever wanted to do
And it hurts me too
It still hurts me too
It still hurts me too
It still hurts

About 907Britt

"907Britt is pure folk." -SunStar "...finely crafted lyrics." -Americana Music Times "...a new light on the folk scene." -Lively Times "Arnesen effortlessly mixes elements of folk, country and bluegrass..." -Fairbanks Daily News-Miner
This entry was posted in Featured and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Still Hurts

  1. Cecil DeMeerleer says:

    Thanks for letting me be a part of this song, a real pleasure.
    Cecil

Leave a Reply

